top of page

Am I a Dead Duck?

“The story is told of a godless plantation owner and one of his slaves named Peter. Knowing that old Peter was an earnest Christian his master decided to have some fun at the old slaves expense. ‘Peter,’ he said, ‘I want to ask you a question. I am not a Christian. I have never asked God for anything. Yet there’s this large plantation and all you slaves to work my land. I have money in the bank and good health. Now take yourself. You are nothing but a slave. You don’t have any money. Two of your children died of smallpox, and I sold your wife down the river. You are sick from rheumatism. Now tell me Peter. What’s the matter with this God of yours who is so good to me even when I don’t believe in Him and who sends you so much trouble in spite of your faith?’ The old slave thought for a moment. ‘Massa, when you go duck hunting, you fires into the flock, one duck falls dead while another is wounded, now which duck do you go after?’ “ ‘The wounded one of course.’ “ ‘That’s how it is with me. The devil knows he has you sure. You’re a dead duck. But this poor fellow the devil, he ain’t sure, so he chases me all the time cause I’zz struggles to get away from him’….. “If you never have temptations and trials and there are no clouds in your sky, ask yourself, ‘Am I a dead duck (My few added words with the Morning Riser Devotional Book, 1988, p. 37)?’” Sherry

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page