top of page

If we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience. Romans 8:26

Marriage enrichment programs or retreats are very enlightening and so good for marriages that feel they do well, and also for the marriages that struggle. It appears in our day and age that having a marriage that struggles is the norm. Many stay away from attending these programs (usually the husband) because they don’t see the need for such a thing that might possibly point out things they should and possibly don’t want to change. Or they just don’t want to (down right) hear someone telling them what they need to do for their marriage. If the truth be known – it’s plain selfishness. There was a man who wrote a letter to his wife of his thoughts before they entered a marriage-enrichment program. This was a man who cared. Here are some excerpts of what he wrote: “I hope to gain a better marriage, but I have specific hopes that reach much further. I hope to learn to be more sensitive to you and your needs. I hope to be able to communicate better. I hope to learn how to share with you the things we should share in a way that is helpful to you as well as to me. I want to learn how to make our marriage more of the covenant it is intended to be. I want us to be on the same spiritual wavelength. I want us to be able to pray together for those concerns we jointly share. I want us to be more of a “team” without losing our individuality that makes life interesting.” Our thoughts and feelings say much about who we are. Many times we substitute “I am” for “I feel.” Feelings come from the core of our being, and feelings are neither right nor wrong, they are just that, feelings, and we can’t stop feeling when something affects us. Feelings are an integral part of life together as a married couple. Marriage enrichment programs or retreats are a wonderful way to bond marriages for the better. Personally my husband and I have attended a number of them, and have always come away blessed. There are always things we can do to improve ourselves, which in turn enriches our marriage. A prime requirement of a happy marriage is to accept the feelings of your spouse. When we question our loved one’s feelings, we are denying who he or she is. Although we may wish our spouse didn’t feel a certain way about a situation, we had better not say, “You shouldn’t feel that way.” This stifles effective communication. Where getting to the root of their feelings and working through that feeling can be very constructive. The next time a program or retreat comes to your area, don’t think twice, but go and see what’s offered. Your marriage will be enhanced for the positive - and you won’t be sorry (My thoughts with This Love We Share, January 1 and 2). Sherry

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page