top of page

Hope for the Caregiver - The Role of a Caregiver

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go. Joshua 1:9

When I was caring for my mom, it became clearer every day what a challenge, what a responsibility, what a sacred trust, and a transforming experience this giving of care was. I found myself in a unique situation. It was not like raising children, or being a wife, or working in a social setting. God had called me to serve mom, and He promised to give me sufficient grace for doing it. Slowly, but surely, my perceptions of this calling began to change. After taking care of her for seven years, I learned through trial and error, how to make each day a blessing instead of a chore. I know how challenging it is to care for a loved one or anyone who has been entrusted to you, and in spite of the difficulties mom and I faced daily, we loved each other. I wish with all my heart I would have laughed and shared more with her. Treasure every day with the precious souls you are caring for, so when you are finally separated from them you will have no regrets. I pray that you will only know the true joy of caregiving, and have the hope of seeing them again when Jesus comes in the clouds. The day is soon coming when Jesus will wipe all the tears from our eyes and sickness, suffering and death will be no more. Let us find comfort and courage in that loving promise. Thoughts taken from the book: Courage for the Soul of the Caregiver

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page